The Big Sandy Mountaineer -

Wrestling Program looks bright


March 9, 2022

The Big Sandy wrestling program has been gaining momentum. Unfortunately, our junior high and High School program has been small for years. However, the future of the program is bright. Kyle Rodewald and his group of assistant coaches have built the little guy wrestling program with a roster that has stayed steady to 25-30 wrestlers for the last five years-building a group of wrestlers that are ready to move up. The little guy wrestling program has helped five wrestlers be prepped and ready to wrestle this year at the junior high level and place well at the Montana Middle School Championship. Our Jr High wrestlers placed as the following at the Championship meet: Daijalin Sunchild wet 2-1 and placed 2nd, Garret LeFurgey went 3-2 and DNP (did not place), Harley LaBuda went 2-3 and placed 6th, Quinn Rodewald went 2-2 and DNP, Wesley Cox went 3-3 and placed 6th. Out of these five wrestlers, three will be moving up to our High School program, two will be able to wrestle at both Jr. High level and High school level next year, which currently has three wrestlers: Austin Haugen, Tannin Bauman, and Darrel Sunchild. Jr High and High School Head Coach Tucker Taylor said: "I am looking forward to seeing the lineup for next year." Assistant Jr High Coach and Head Coad for the Little Guy Program, Kyle Rodewald, said, "I am excited for the program to continue to grow and to watch the kids move from one program to the next."

Coach Taylor and Coach Rodewald are always looking for new recruits for all the programs, especially the Jr. High and High School Rosters. If a kiddo is willing to work hard, learn, have fun, and push themselves to a new level, have them see one of the coaches. Come and be a champion and part of the legacy!

Great Job to all the wrestlers this year, from The Little Guys to High School. All of them have worked hard, improved immensely, and have given it their all! GO, PIONEERS!


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022